Community Foundation announces 2018-19 Teen Trust Board of Directors

The Community Foundation of Northeast Iowa has announced the 2018-19 Teen Trust Board of Directors.  The 24 students from Black Hawk County high schools will be responsible for allocating $10,000 in grants to nonprofit organizations.

The 24 students selected are: Carter Roth, Emma Herring, Krisha Keeran, Maya Gabriele, Ryan Westhoff, Siddhartha Kalala, Sophia Schillinger, and Marika Yang from Cedar Falls High School; Caitlin Heine, James Mudd, and Dylan Mack from Columbus High School; Brianna Nash, Dominiqua Watts, Kari Wilson, Michelle Moss, and Nia Crowley from East High School; Jayden Engel and Mikaela Meyer from Hudson High School; and Abby Zeets, Carlie Frost, Edina Kuduzovic, Joseph Mills, Maya Winkel, and Elizabeth Smith from West High School.

Bekah Bass, a sophomore at the University of Northern Iowa, will serve as the Teen Trust Student Director.

“I’m honored to be leading this group of incredible students,” said Bass. “The energy we’ve had during our first meetings is exciting to be part of and will be a huge asset during this amazing learning experience that teaches what it means to give back to your community and how to do it."

The Teen Trust program was established in 1994 through grants from the W.K. Kellogg Foundation and R.J. McElroy Trust. It’s meant to educate youth on issues faced in Black Hawk County, as well as show them the importance of philanthropic efforts.  Since its inception, over 600 youth have participated in the youth philanthropy model, according to the CFNEIA.

 The application for Teen Trust grants opens on October 19, 2018.  Learn more here.



More News
StormtraCk 7 Weather
Cedar Rapids
Iowa City
Charles City
Prairie Du Chien
Connect with KWWL
Top Stories
Scroll to top
Skip to content