Skip to Content

What you need to know about the Johnson County special election Tuesday

Johnson County special election

JOHNSON COUNTY, Iowa (KWWL) -- The special election to fill a seat on the Johnson County Board of Supervisors is happening Tuesday.

Former supervisor Janelle Rettig's seat opened up after she resigned in April due to personal health and wellbeing reasons. Johnson County officials then voted to hold a special election

Democrats have nominated former Lone Tree Mayor Jon Green. Green won by just two votes, 139 to 137, over Coralville City Councilwoman Meghann Foster. The electors were the same delegates chosen as part of the 2020 Iowa Caucus.

Republicans have nominated former Iowa City school board member Phil Hemingway. Hemingway has run unsuccessfully for supervisor three times in the past, and only two Republicans have been elected to the board since 1958, according to the auditor's office. The last to do so was John Etheredge during a special election in 2013.

Brian Campbell is also running, nominated by petition.

READ MORE: Jon Green wins Democratic nom. for Supervisor, will face Phil Hemingway

Polls open at 7 a.m. and close at 8 p.m. Tuesday night. You can vote at your regular Johnson County polling places.

KWWL will bring you results as they come in.

A sample ballot can be viewed here:


Author Profile Photo


Skip to content