Skip to Content

Two Eastern Iowa students named U.S. Presidential Scholars

(KWWL) -- Two Eastern Iowa high school seniors have been recognized among nearly 160 other students across the country as U.S. Presidential Scholars.

The 57th class was announced Thursday, recognizing seniors for their accomplishments in academics, the arts and career and technical education fields. Congratulations to Molly Ann Niewoehner of Sumner-Fredricksburg High School, and Lucas Ian Pierce of Nashua-Plainfield High School!

Dorothy M. Junginger of Valley High School in West Des Moines was also recognized as a U.S. Presidential Scholars.

"The 2021 Presidential Scholars represent extraordinary achievements for our extraordinary times," U.S. Secretary of Education Miguel Cardona said. "I am delighted to join President Biden in saluting these outstanding young people for their achievements, service, character and continued pursuit of excellence. Their examples make me proud and hopeful about the future. Honoring them can remind us all of the great potential in each new generation and renew our commitment to helping them achieve their dreams.”

The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars selects scholars annually based on their academic success, artistic and technical excellence, essays, school evaluations and transcripts, as well as evidence of community service, leadership and demonstrated commitment to high ideals.

Students named U.S. Presidential Scholars were able to nominate a teacher as U.S. Presidential Scholars Distinguished Teachers. Niewoehner nominated Taunya Robertson as an English Nominating Scholar. Pierce nominated Suzan Turner as a History Nominating Scholar. Junginger nominated Jana Edwards as a Math Nominating Scholar.

The full list of 2021 U.S. Presidential Scholars Distinguished Teachers can be found here:

Of the 3.6 million students expected to graduate from high school this year, more than 6,000 candidates qualified for the 2021 award determined by outstanding performance on the College Board SAT or ACT exams or through nominations made by Chief State School Officers, other partner recognition organizations and the National YoungArts Foundation’s nationwide YoungArts™ program.

Since 1964, the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program has honored more than 7,600 of the nation’s top-performing students. The program was expanded in 1979 to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, literary and performing arts. In 2015, the program was again expanded to recognize students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical education fields.

The Presidential Scholars Class of 2021 will be recognized for their outstanding achievement later this summer.

A complete list of 2021 U.S. Presidential Scholars can be found here:

Author Profile Photo


Skip to content