Skip to Content

Cedar Valley’s ‘Women of Persimmon’ nominees announced

YWCA Black Hawk County announced Friday afternoon the nominees of Cedar Valley's 2021 "Women of Persimmon" Award.

This year’s nominees are the following:

  • Stacey Bentley
  • Heather Bishop
  • Lorene Dehl
  • Kristie Dodge
  • Erica Hopper
  • Isle Casino Hotel Waterloo
  • Lori Johnson
  • Sara Laures
  • Amanda Mahncke
  • Devin O’Loughlin,
  • Sharrie PhillipsWright
  • Madison Sallee
  • Jean Seeland
  • Sharmistha Self
  • The Center of Attention
  • Mary Myers Wilber
  • Dawn Wilson
  • Sasha Wohlpart
  • Catherine Yim

The award marks its 15th year of celebrating influential women in businesses and organizations across the Cedar Valley, who exemplify the YWCA mission to eliminate racism and empower women.

Under the "Women of Persimmon Award" are five categories the nominees are able to be recognized for:

  • Business/Professional Women
  • Volunteer
  • Youth Advocate Volunteer
  • Young Woman of Tomorrow
  • Business/Organization that Empowers Women

A Jean Parker Woman of Persimmon award will also be dedicated to a member of the YWCA. For a fuller description on the categories, reference KWWL's article from March.

Due to the pandemic's setbacks, the YWCA has opted to replace their traditional in-person luncheon with a small event at the YWCA where the awards will be presented. The award ceremony will also be videotaped and posted to the YWCA's Facebook page.

The winners will be announced on Thursday, April 22, 2021.

For more information, CLICK HERE or visit their FACEBOOK PAGE.

Author Profile Photo

Dani Miskell

Weekend Anchor & Reporter

Skip to content