Skip to Content

Don Bosco, Waverly Shell-Rock, and West Delaware shine on final day at state

Remaining Ad Time Ad - 00:00
Dn Bosco

DES MOINES (KWWL) -- The rich just keep getting richer. Don Bosco, West Delaware, and Waverly-Shell Rock captured team titles in class 1A, 2A, and 3A respectively on Saturday. The three teams have combined to win eight of the nine titles awarded in the past three years.

They also managed to add some extra hardware on finals night.

Don Bosco, who had struggled in recent years in finals' matches, won two of four this time around. Twin brothers Cade and Carson Tenold, both runner-ups in 2020, managed to reach the top at 170 and 182 pounds.

West Delaware's Wyatt Voelker (195) and Carson Petlon (285) secured 2A titles.

For Waverly-Shell Rock, Aidan Riggins took the top spot at 152 pounds. McCrae Hagarty's win at 182 also managed to clinch the Go-Hawks team title.

All Eastern Iowa State Champions:

Class 1A

113: Garret Rinken (Nashua-Plainfield) 47-0 won by decision over Braden Graff (West Sioux, Hawarden) 42-1 (Dec 4-2)

126: Cade Siebrecht (Lisbon) 35-4 won by decision over Stevie Barnes (Underwood) 36-3 (Dec 11-5)

132: Aidan Noonan (Cascade, W. Dubuque) 46-0 won by decision over Gable Porter (Underwood) 13-1 (Dec 6-2)

145: Robert Avila Jr. (Lisbon) 34-0 won by decision over Cael Rahnavardi (Don Bosco, Gilbertville) 25-3 (Dec 5-2)

152: Maximus Magayna (Columbus Catholic) 42-0 won by decision over Briar Reisz (Logan-Magnolia) 48-2 (Dec 7-5)

160: Tate Entriken (Hudson) 39-3 won in sudden victory - 1 over Cael Frost (Don Bosco, Gilbertville) 33-6 (SV-1 8-6)

170: Cade Tenold (Don Bosco, Gilbertville) 28-0 won by tech fall over Blake McAlister (South Central Calhoun) 42-3 (TF-1.5 5:59 (20-5))

182: Carson Tenold (Don Bosco, Gilbertville) 38-1 won in sudden victory - 1 over Jackson Dewald (Westwood, Sloan) 44-1 (SV-1 3-1)

220: Cole Clark (Lisbon) 38-0 won by decision over Derek Anderson (Hinton) 46-2 (Dec 6-3)

285: Chet Buss (North Butler-Clarksville) 37-0 won by fall over Rex Johnsen (Logan-Magnolia) 39-3 (Fall 1:40)

Class 2A:

126: Carter Fousek (Crestwood, Cresco) 30-0 won by decision over Dominik Ridout (East Marshall, LeGrand) 25-2 (Dec 6-4)

132: Brandon O`Brien (Independence) 43-2 won in tie breaker - 1 over Averee Abben (Osage) 40-4 (TB-1 4-3)

138: Isaiah Weber (Independence) 40-1 won by decision over Nathaniel Genobana (Centerville) 45-4 (Dec 2-0)

160: Hayden Taylor (Solon) 39-0 won by decision over Wyatt Appleseth (Panorama) 46-1 (Dec 7-2)

170: Carson Babcock (NH/TV) 46-0 won by decision over Mitchell Joines (Bishop Heelan) 44-5 (Dec 7-0)

195: Wyatt Voelker (West Delaware) 38-0 won by major decision over Jacob Reicks (NH/TV) 46-2 (MD 15-7)

285: Carson Petlon (West Delaware) 39-0 won by decision over Kamrin Steveson (Grinnell) 32-4 (Dec 3-0)

Class 3A

138: Hunter Garvin (Iowa City, West) 16-0 won by fall over Dylan Whitt (Cedar Falls) 14-3 (Fall 5:10)

152: Aiden Riggins (Waverly-Shell Rock) 34-0 won by decision over Caleb Rathjen (Ankeny) 29-2 (Dec 3-2)

160: Tate Naaktgeboren (Linn-Mar) 13-0 won by decision over Caleb Corbin (Valley, West Des Moines) 25-1 (Dec 3-1)

182: McCrae Hagarty (Waverly-Shell Rock) 38-0 won by decision over Griffin Gammell (Waukee) 26-3 (Dec 3-2)

195: Ben Kueter (Iowa City, City High) 11-0 won by decision over Jake Walker (Waverly-Shell Rock) 23-5 (Dec 5-0)

Author Profile Photo

Mark Woodley

Sports Anchor

Skip to content