Skip to Content

Waterloo-Cedar Falls Symphony announces 8-day online season and ‘Ready to Play’ campaign


CEDAR FALLS, Iowa (KWWL) - The Waterloo-Cedar Falls Symphony will have an 8-day online season between September 26 and October 3. The concerts will celebrate the 250th anniversary of the birth of Ludwig van Beethoven.

On the final night of the series, October 3, the symphony will perform from the Gallagher-Bluedorn Performing Arts Center on the UNI campus. This performance marks the beginning of the symphony's 2020-21 season.

According to a news release, the schedule is as follows:

  • Saturday, September 26 at 7 p.m.Live from the Archive with Pauline Barrett Artistic Director & Conductor Jason Weinberger. Jason hosts a special installment of their popular archive series titled Seeing Beethoven, which highlights a collaboration with Waterloo’s Youth Art Team and The New Live for the Beethoven celebration.
  • Monday, September 28 – Jason debuts his new podcast Radio Hour, in which he spins favorite recordings and adds personal insight about the selections. This debut episode features a diverse collection of Beethoven interpretations.
  • Tuesday, September 29The latest installment of The Musician Beat, featuring a surprise interview with one of their musicians performing on October 3, on Facebook and YouTube.
  • Friday, October 2 at 7 p.m.Executive Director Rich Frevert hosts the first installment of The Rich-er Experience from backstage at Gallagher-Bluedorn, as Waterloo-Cedar Falls Symphony members prepare the music for the October 3 performance.
  • Saturday, October 3 at 6:30 p.m. – Jason presents a live, online pre-concert chat beginning at 6:30 p.m. on Facebook and YouTube. Join via Zoom to learn more and ask questions about the program.
  • Saturday, October 3 at 7:00 p.m.The performance for the Gallagher-Bluedorn offers a unique look at the Viennese tradition of serenade-style music. Jason conducts a spatially-distanced ensemble in selections from Beethoven’s Septet and utilizes the capabilities of the symphony's new digital format to discuss and explore related music by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Louis Spohr, Franz Berwald, and Franz Schubert. The program includes movements from Septet in E-flat Major, Op. 20 by Beethoven, Nonet in F Major, Op. 31 by Spohr, Octet in F Major, D. 803 by Schubert, Divertimento in D Major, K. 251 by Mozart and Grand Septet in Bb Major by Berwald.

All online content and events are available for free on-demand through the Waterloo-Cedar Falls Symphony’s Facebook page and symphony's YouTube Channel.

In order for the online events to be free and for the symphony to continue on during the pandemic, the symphony has established the new 'Ready to Play' campaign. In additional to normal contributions, patrons and anyone who supports the symphony are being asked to make a gift of $100 or more, if they're able. This will help the symphony until live performances can resume. Click here to donate online. You can also call 319-273-3373 or mail a check to wcfsymphony, Gallagher-Bluedorn PAC #17, Cedar Falls, IA 50614.

“I’m just so excited to get back to making music with my colleagues. And despite not being able to welcome in-person audiences, I love the fact that we are able to use digital means to offer listeners a truly rich and varied experience of Beethoven’s music.”

Jason Weinberger - Pauline Barrett Artistic Director & Conductor

Abby Turpin

Evening Anchor

Skip to content