Skip to Content

Disaster proclamation issued for 13 Iowa counties

Remaining Ad Time Ad - 00:00
poster - 2020-08-10T175854.242
Grain bin dented from wind in Tama County
poster - 2020-08-10T175707.598
Uprooted trees near Taft Middle School in Cedar Rapids
SW of CR
Lucienne Wells. Building damage SW of Cedar Rapids
CR test Iowa site

DES MOINES, Iowa (KWWL) - A disaster proclamation was announced Tuesday morning for 13 Iowa counties, one day after strong storms ripped through the state.

Gov. Kim Reynolds announced the disaster proclamation during a press conference. It includes Benton, Boone, Cedar, Clinton, Dallas, Jasper, Johnson, Linn, Marshall, Muscatine, Poweshiek, Story and Tama.

The proclamation allows the state to provide extra resources to the counties affected by the storm.

Reynolds also said 450,000 Iowa residents are without power. She residents that after 4 hours without power, perishable food should be thrown out.

WATCH LIVE: Gov. Kim Reynolds is holding a briefing

WATCH LIVE: Gov. Kim Reynolds is holding a briefing to discuss severe storms that went through Eastern Iowa yesterday, causing significant damage. Here's a look at the damage done in the area:

Posted by KWWL on Tuesday, August 11, 2020

Reynolds said she will be doing a fly-around Wednesday to inspect damage.

She asked farmers to document damage with photos and get that documentation to local officials.

Reynolds added that coronavirus testing sites were down in Cedar Rapids, Davenport and Marshalltown as of Tuesday morning.

The proclamation also activates the Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program, which can provide up to $5,000 for households with income up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level. The maximum annual income is $43,440 for a family of three.

Read the full press release from the governor's office here.


Author Profile Photo


Skip to content