Skip to Content

England releasing updated self-quarantine restrictions

LONDON -- British Transport Secretary Grant Shapps says anyone arriving to England from around 60 countries or overseas territories will not have to self-quarantine for 14 days from July 10.

Shapps confirmed on BBC radio that four countries -- France, Germany, Italy and Spain -- will be on that initial list.

The United States will remain on the "red list" because of still high levels of coronavirus infections.

Other countries where travelers will not face a requirement to quarantine on their return are expected to include a number of European nations and the likes of New Zealand, which reduced the incidence of the coronavirus dramatically

The full list is expected to be published later.

Prime Minister Boris Johnson Johnson said that "it's right we should open up cautiously" and that the U.K. cannot have infections from abroad.

Associated Press

Skip to content