Skip to Content

Coloff Media radio station, KCVM-FM, wins another national award

Washington, DC (KWWL) Winning a coveted Crystal Award from the National Association of Broadcasters is nothing new for Cedar Falls radio station, KCVM-FM, 93.5 The Mix. It's happened five times.

Jim Coloff radio stations are well known for their community service year after year.

This year, an added treat for KCVM-FM.

The National Association of Broadcasters this week announced its annual nationwide community service award winners.

KCVM-FM received the prestigious NAB Heritage Crystal Award.

The station received the national award for being a winner of five previous NAB Crystal Awards in recent years.

Jim Coloff, station owner and general manager, accepted the award on behalf of the team at 93.5 The Mix.

Coloff said, “We feel that community service is at the heart of what we do at 93.5 The Mix and Coloff Media. From our work with Magical Mix Kids to the many local community events we are involved with, we want to give back to the community that has been so supportive of our local radio station.”

Magical Mix Kids is the well known Cedar Valley 501-c3 charity started by KCVM-FM some twenty years ago.

The local charity has taken more than 300 families on all-expenses-paid trips to Disney World in Florida since 1999.

This October, 2020, will be the 21st trip, and, once again, the non-profit is planning to take as many as a dozen area families.

At a time when most U.S. radio stations are owned by larger, national media groups, Jim Coloff has kept ownership local for his Iowa stations, and that is certainly a rarity these days.

Jim's love of radio came naturally. While growing up, his parents owned a radio station in Forest City, KIOW-FM. 107.3. It's still in the family today, as part of Coloff Media.

In addition to KCVM-FM, 93.5. The Mix, Cedar Falls, and KIOW-FM, 107.3, Forest City, Jim owns KCFI-FM, 105.1, Cedar Falls, KCFI-AM, 1250, Cedar Falls, KCNZ-AM, 1650, The Fan, Cedar Falls, two radio stations in Charles City, KCHA-AM, 1580, and KCHA-FM, 95.9, and KMCH-FM, 94.7, in Manchester.

Also this week, The National Association of Broadcasters announced 10 winners of the 33rd annual NAB Crystal Radio Awards.

Since 1987, the NAB Crystal Radio Awards have recognized radio stations for their outstanding year-round commitment to community service.

The 2020 NAB Crystal Radio Award recipients listed below were chosen from 50 finalists and were honored during NAB Show Express.

KRMG-FM Tulsa, Okla. KUBL-FM Salt Lake City, Ut. WDNS-FM Bowling Green, Ky. WKRQ-FM Cincinnati, Ohio WSGW-AM Saginaw, Mich. KRWM-FM Seattle, Wa. KVTY-FM Lewiston, Idaho WHUR-FM Washington, D.C. WREW-FM Cincinnati, Ohio WSUN-FM Tampa Bay, Fla.

NAB Crystal Radio Award finalists were selected by a panel of judges representing broadcasting, community service organizations and public relations firms.

The National Association of Broadcasters is the premier advocacy association for America's broadcasters.

NAB advances radio and television interests in legislative, regulatory and public affairs.

Through advocacy, education and innovation, NAB enables broadcasters to best serve their communities, strengthen their businesses and seize new opportunities in the digital age. Learn more at

Author Profile Photo

Ron Steele

Evening Anchor

Skip to content