Skip to Content

Iowa wrestling crowns three Big Ten champs, team title too

PISCATAWAY, New Jersey (KWWL) - The Iowa Hawkeye wrestling team dominated during the final day of the Big Ten Championship Sunday, securing the overall team title and crowning three individual champions as well.

Spencer Lee dominated Devin Schroder from Purdue, winning 16-2 in the 125-pound division. Lee controlled Schroder for five minutes of riding time, adding four points from a near-fall in the closing seconds.

At 149 pounds, Iowa's Pat Lugo defeated top-ranked Sammy Sasso from Ohio State, by a narrow margin of 2-1. OSU challenged an official's decision to let the match expire without awarding Sasso points for a near takedown but the ruling on the mat was not changed.

Alex Marinelli defeated top-ranked Vincenzo Joseph for Iowa's third championship of the night in the 165-pound division. Marinelli scored two points for a takedown with just 11 seconds left to go out ahead of Joseph from Penn State.

Michael Kemerer came up short for the Hawks in the 174-pound division, but they still took home the team title with 157.5 overall points; Nebraska came in second with 132 points.

Travis Breese

Reporter, Iowa City

Skip to content