Skip to Content

Three Iowa methamphetamine traffickers sentenced

COUNCIL BLUFFS, Iowa (KWWL) – Three sentenced for Conspiracy to Distribute Methamphetamine on October 8th, 2019. Joseph A. Brown (35) was sentenced to ten years, Christopher M. Rouse (31) was sentenced to twenty years and Bernave Navarrete (28) was sentenced to twenty years.

The investigation was handled by the Iowa Division of Narcotics Enforcement and FBI Safe Streets Task Force. The investigation revealed that methamphetamine was being brought into the Omaha area from Mexico and later sent to numerous locations in Nebraska and Western Iowa.

As part of the investigation, the following people were already sentenced to prison: Jackie Thielen, ten years; Brandy Kumpula, eight years; Chase Richard, fifteen years; Jessica Snavely, ten years; and William LaBenz, five years. The sentencing hearings for Omar Martinez, Laura Rausch-Anderson, Colby Dunn and Manda May Rowell are still pending.

This matter was investigated by Iowa Division of Narcotics Enforcement, Federal Bureau
of Investigation’s Safe Streets Task Force, Omaha Police Department, Southwest Iowa Narcotics
Task Force, Council Bluffs Police Department, Harlan, Iowa Police Department and the Shelby
County Sheriff’s Department. The case was prosecuted by the United States Attorney’s Office for
the Southern District of Iowa.

KWWL Staff

Skip to content