Skip to Content

GONE BUT NOT FORGOTTEN: Community remembers fallen officers

WATERLOO, Iowa (KWWL) – Each day, people in law enforcement make sacrifices to protect us. Now, the community is honoring them.

This week is National Peace Officers Week. ‌In 1962, President John F. Kennedy declared May 15 ‘National Peace Officers Memorial Day.’ Each year, law enforcement from around the country gather to remember the fallen. The ceremony draws nearly 40,000 people to Senate Park in Washington D.C.

Nearly 1,000 miles away, Black Hawk County also held their memorial service at the Waterloo Veterans Memorial Hall.

On Wednesday, police officers, sheriff’s deputies and state patrolmen united as a family to remember.

“We live by each other, and unfortunately, there’s been times where we’ve died by each other,” La Porte City Police Chief Chris Brecher said. “It’s important to honor those that have made that ultimate sacrifice.”

Since 1902, 14 officers in Black Hawk County have died in the line of duty. Each one was honored. The four words repeated throughout the ceremony were ‘gone but not forgotten.’

When you need help, Chief Brecher said officers run toward danger. Many times, they work in the shadows.

“It’s important the community knows that no matter what happens, we’ll be there to step up for you,” he said.

The ceremony was about honoring and remembering. But Waterloo Police Chief Dan Trelka said it was also for the families – to send them a message that the community will never forget their loved ones.

“It’s a fantastic honor for these individuals who have given their all for our community, and there’s been far too many,” Chief Trelka said. “But we need to remember them.”

  • John E. Bailey, Waterloo Police
  • Fred P. Widmann, Waterloo Police
  • William Goodenbour, Waterloo Police
  • Vinton Jerry Margretz, Waterloo Police
  • Wendell Fay Dilworth, Black Hawk County Sheriff’s Office
  • Everett Dutcher, Cedar Falls Police
  • William Russell Mehlhorn Jr., Waterloo Police
  • Cecil Gabriel LaFromboise, La Porte City Police
  • Wayne Robert Rice, Waterloo Police
  • Michael Wayne Hoing, Waterloo Police
  • William Fredrick Mullikin, Black Hawk County Sheriff’s Office
  • Charles Gerald Whitney, Iowa State Patrol
  • Lance G. Dietsch, Iowa State Patrol
  • Adam Liddle, Waterloo Police
Author Profile Photo

Olivia Schmitt

Morning Anchor

Skip to content