Skip to Content

Hawkeye men capture Big Ten track title

IOWA CITY (KWWL) — The Iowa Hawkeyes ended a seven year drought as the claimed the 2019 Big Ten Conference Track and Field Championship on Sunday afternoon.

The Hawks crowned champs in three events on the final day of the event. Senior Mar’yea Harris won the 400 meters in 45.67, while senior Chris Douglas ran a personal best 400-meter hurdles to win in 50.32. Harris then anchored home the 4 x 400 team of freshman Wayne Lawrence, Jr., junior Chris Thompson, and senior Carter Lilly to another title.

The championship marked the first for Iowa since 2011.

The Hawkeye women finished in third place, while Ohio State captured the team title.

Junior Laulauaga Tausaga earned her third consecutive discus title with a facility record, 60.28 meters (197-9).

Mark Woodley

Sports Anchor

Skip to content