Skip to Content

Iowa advances 7 to Quarters at NCAA Wrestling; UNI advances 3, ISU 2

Iowa and Penn State are headed for showdown at the NCAA Wrestling Championships in Pittsburgh.

The Hawkeyes have advanced 7 of their 9 qualifiers to the quarterfinals. Penn State still leads the team race, and sends 6 to the quarters.

UNI has advanced three wrestlers to the quarters. Taylor Lujan pinned his opponent, Devin Skatzka of Minnesota at 174 at 3:22, and advances to meet top-seeded and undefeated, Mark Hall, of Penn State in the quarterfinals Friday night.

The Panthers also advanced Bryce Steiert at 165 and Drew Foster at 184. Foster is the 6-seed in his weight division. Steiert is the 11-seed at 165.

The Panthers lost Max Thomsen, Josh Alber in the second round and Jay Schwarm in the opening session.

Iowa advanced all 9 of its Hawkeye wrestlers into the second round at the NCAA Wrestling Championships in Pittsburgh.

Penn State leads the team totals with 32.5 points…..Ohio State is second with 25.5 and Iowa 3rd at 24.

Iowa got second session wins from Spencer Lee at 125, Austin DeSanto at 133. DeSanto beat Penn State’s Roman Bravo-Young, 7-2.

Hawkeye Freshman, Max Murin, advanced with a 4-3 win over Michael Carr of Illinois at 141, while Pat Lugo scored a 4-2 victory over Ryan Brees of Virgina Tech at 149.

Iowa’s Kaleb Young advanced, beating KeShawn Hayes of Ohio State at 157.

Top-seed and undefeated, Alex Marinelli, scored his second victory to advance to the quarters.

Stoll moves on for Iowa at 285

Iowa two sustained two losses Thursday night, as Cash Wikcke lost to 5-seed, Maxwell Dean, 6-4.

Jacob Warner was upset by 21-seed, Thomas Lane of Cal Poly, 4-2.

Iowa’s State’s Jarret Degan advanced to the quarters with an 11-8 win over Justin Oliver at 149.

The Cyclones Sam Colbray won his second match at 184 to advance.


Here are the early results involving the Iowa schools, as UNI advanced 5 of its 6 wrestlers, and Iowa State advanced 4 after session 1.


Iowa’s Spencer Lee won his opening match by tech fall 18-0 Bryce West of Northern Illinois

UNI lost Jay Schwarm to a tech fall, 18-3 at the hands of Michael McGee of Old Dominion

Iowa State’s Alex Mackall lost a 6-2 decision to Sean Faust of NC State


Iowa’s Austin Desanto advanced on a DQ

Iowa’s State’s Austin Gomex scored an 11-0 victory to advance.


Iowa’s Freshman Max Murin advanced with a with a 3-2 win over Tristan Moran of Wisconsin

UNI’s Josh Alber advanced with a 10-3 victory

Nebraska’s Chad Red pinned Iowa State’s Ian Parker in 3:59

149 UNI’s Max Thomsen scored a 98- victory over Jared Prince of Navy

Iowa State’s Jarette Degan advanced with a 14-3 victory.

Iowa’s Pat Lugo advanced with a 5-2 victory

157 Iowa’s Kaleb Young scored a 16-1 Major decision

Iowa State’s Chase Straw beaten by Steve Bleise of Minnesota, 9-1

165 Iowa’s top-seeded Alex Marinelli remained undefeated with a come from behind 7-4 win over

Joe Smith of Oky

Bryce Steiert of UNI advanced with a pin over Bryce Martin of Indiana in 2:35

174– UNI’s Taylor Lujan advances with 15-7 victory

184—UNI’s Drew Foster advancewd with a 10-0 victory

Iowa State’s Sam Colbray scored an 8-2 victory to advance.

Iowa’s Cash Wilcke with a 3-2 win

197—Iowa’s Jacob Warner advanced with a 9-8 victory

Iowa State’s Willie Miklus advanced with a 6-1 win

285—Iowa’s Sam Stoll wins 8-5

Ron Steele

Evening Anchor

Skip to content